Month: May 2010

  • I went to a local whole sale fabric store last weekend and got some great fabric that would look great as a purse.  HOWEVER...it's been a pain to work with.  It shreds, so I have to serge around the edges to prevent that. 
    I've been trying to put a zipper pocket in the side of it and it's been pretty slow going.  I'm actually getting frustrated.  I'll try more tonight...blech.  I think I should just bail on the whole zipper idea for now and just make the purse.  Or bag.  Or *something*. 

  • Just because...

    I really don't have a lot to say...but for some reason I wanted to get on and say SOMETHING.  Don't know what, though. 

    Let's see...what have I been up to? 

    *Quilting
    *Watching a TV series via Netflix DVD's, and just got the Roku so that I can watch Netflix's instant viewing. 
    *Worrying about mother's day--what to do for my mom?  Other than a card...hmmm...she's like the queen of gardening, so flowers is kind of a cheesy gift for her; as well as a plant. 
    *Nursing my broken toe back to health.  I'm pretty sure I broke it, though I never did go to the doctors.  It's been 2 weeks and it's still sore. 
    *Frustrated with real estate, and wondering when buyers will start lining up to buy houses again.  I've got 2.5 listings, and need to get buyers in there!  (.5 because I have the paperwork signed for a new one, but won't put it on the market until the 24th.)
    *Trying to keep my house clean...ish.  It's tough when my foot is sore, and I just don't have the DESIRE to do it. 

    Same ole, same ole. 

  • People Pleaser

    Why do I care so much about pleasing other people?  It's so frustrating to me!  I don't feel like I can speak my mind in case someone gets mad at me.  For example, I got in my facebook inbox the following message:

    "Ok ladies here's another game, like the color game with the bra which was a total success and we had men wondering for days what was with the colors and it made it to the News. Well this game has to do with your handbag, where we put our handbag the moment we get home for example "on the couch", "the kitchen counter", "the dresser" well u get the idea. Just put your answer as your Status with nothing more than that and cut n paste this message and forward to all your FB female friends to their inbox. The bra game made it to the news. Let's see how powerful we women really are!!! REMEMBER - DO NOT PUT YOUR ANSWER AS A REPLY TO THIS MESSAGE, SIMPLY PUT YOUR ANSWER AS YOUR STATUS, THEN FORWARD THIS MESSAGE TO YOUR FRIENDS!"

    Which I happen to think is totally stupid.  The bra thing was stupid, and so is this.  I don't want my guy friends--or girl friends to think ill of me and misconstrue what I 'mean'.  And besides that, it sounds like the author of this little thing WANTS people to get their mind in the gutter.  As if I want my friends seeing on my status message: "on the kitchen counter or the bedroom dresser" and thinking things of me. 

    But I didn't want to respond to the message because I didn't want to make the girl mad...why do I care?  If I'm speaking the truth, shouldn't I say something? 

    My husband is a people pleaser, and so is our oldest son.  Could it be because we're all the firstborn?  Is there any stock in that?