May 21, 2010

  • I went to a local whole sale fabric store last weekend and got some great fabric that would look great as a purse.  HOWEVER…it’s been a pain to work with.  It shreds, so I have to serge around the edges to prevent that. 
    I’ve been trying to put a zipper pocket in the side of it and it’s been pretty slow going.  I’m actually getting frustrated.  I’ll try more tonight…blech.  I think I should just bail on the whole zipper idea for now and just make the purse.  Or bag.  Or *something*. 

Comments (3)

  • would it help to use a stabilizer or an water-soluble interfacing?  Sometimes those beautiful, tricky fabrics and be made to mind with a little help.  Good luck.

  • Feedwater is a great craftwoman.  I was going to suggest using a snap–or duct tape.

  • @feedwaterclean - Thank you!  I read about how some people use glue sticks…just regular cheapy glue sticks!  I gave up on my idea of using the zipper for this purse—I’ll probably try with another one.  I was making this purse a bit more complicated than I needed to, with extra sewing that didn’t need to happen. 

    @chipperchocolate - Thanks Becks!  When it doubt, DUCT TAPE it!   

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *