March 10, 2010

  • God's Provision

    Why is worrying so easy?  Why is that the first thing that I start to do, rather than trusting that God's going to take care of things?  Why can't TRUST GOD be the first thought that crosses my mind? 

    We've had some car problems lately. In January, we had to pay a bunch to get my van fixed--the passenger window wouldn't roll up.  Thankfully, we just needed a switch for that, but there were other issues in the engine.  AND we needed a new battery.  BOOOO! 
    Now our truck is out of commission due to needing a new transmission.  We're planning on selling it for parts, and hope to make a little bit of money to put toward our other broken car--our Toyota.  It's a 1993, got lots of miles on it, but still running fairly well.  Jim noticed a leak, so when I took it in, they said that the water pump needed to be replaced.  Didn't cost a ton for the part, but the labor was extensive.  Not to mention a bunch of other hoses and belts that needed to be replaced. 
    The car shop called me and gave me the total and even though I was prepared for it, I still went into panic mode.  I *thought* that we had more money in our savings, but I'd forgotten that I'd put some towards our last bill.  Everyone seems to want what little money we have.  (and no, nothing back from taxes...) 
    Juggled a bit from accounts (transferred), and then realized that not only does Jim get paid tomorrow, but once we put our truck on Craigslist, I'm sure we'll sell it. 

    I still really got to get a few houses sold.  It's been a tough market.  I registered my youngest for Kindergarten at the same school where his older brother is--private school.  I have to sell a few homes to get that paid!~  We don't really like going month to month, so we prefer to pay for it all at once.  Or twice a year.  It's an awesome school and we know that going here will give them a big boost when it comes to college.  However, it's a struggle to pay for it. 
    Our goal is for them to get scholarships for college, so then we wouldn't be paying for it!  (which is inevitable even if we say we won't) 
    We know that this school is the best place for them, and God brought it to us before we even needed it.  Now, we're waiting to see how He's going to provide the money for it. 

     

     

Comments (2)

  • I think it's "easy" to go into panic. It's hard to have that trust in everything always. It seems to me the bigger the dilemma the quicker I go to God but sometimes with those other things that seem big (especially money matters) I tend to have to go through the panic to get to the trust but at least I get there...I think that counts for something. Afterwards I think of that old hymn, with the line "Oh what needless pain we bear when we do not carry everything to God in prayer."  I long for the day when going to God is the first thing I do, I'm not there yet but I'm always working on it and it sounds like you are too. God is at work, all the time, in everything! I just have to keep reminding myself of that. You take care now and hopefully all those things will come together soon...it'll work out...it always does. ~Dawne

  • @DawneElla - Thank you!  It's way too easy to panic, and we like the easy way!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment