Month: March 2010

  • update on my quilt

    DSC05732

    This is my finished quilt top.  I put this top with the batting and the backing:

    DSC05733

    and made my 'quilt sandwich'.  I tried to spray baste it together, but that did NOT work out the way I wanted.  I eneded up having to wash the backing to get the spray stuff off it, and then layer it again, and pin with safety pins. 
    Last night, I attempted to stitch it with the walking foot, but that didn't work out the way I wanted.  Today, I'm going to practice doing free motion quilting to see what happens.  I put a message thru to a friend on Facebook to see if her mom would volunteer her time to use her longarm quilting machine to quilt it for me since it's a donated quilt for an auction. 
    That would be great. 
    We'll see what today brings. 

    It's spring break here in WA state, and so the boys are home all day, all week.  I need to get creative to figure out projects rather than letting them play on the Wii all day.  That is SO not happening!  We'd like to go to the Oregon Coast, but it's supposed to rain all week here and there.  Yay. 

     

  • Faux Pas's and God

    Yesterday, I made a computer/internet faux pas.  (and I KNOW better!) I'm not going to say what it was, but suffice it to say that I wish I could go back and undo it.  Or change it.  I felt so bad about it since it affected other people, and it ate away at me all afternoon yesterday.  Taking a step back, I wonder why we beat ourselves up so much over things that are so simple (in hindsight)?  I've done that my whole life--I make mistakes and then it eats away at me. 
    God still loves me, no matter how much I screw up.  No matter what I do or what I've done, I know that He'll still love me. 
    Not sure about other people, though. 
    I think that's the main problem, looking to others for approval. 
    I need to be looking to God for approval. 

    I finished my class last week and I'm telling you, I'm so glad it's over!  I get such anxiety over tests and homework.  Even if I know/think I'll do well, I still get nervous.  I got A's on the two papers and the two tests, so I got an A out of the class.  Yay! 
    Now that my final is over, I've devoted time to finishing up the quilt I'm making for our school's auction.  (it's actually the school where my son goes)
    I've got the top mostly done, but I want to put a couple of embroidery items on it.  Then I will be off to find batting for it, and backing.  For the actual quilting, I'll be doing mostly "stitch in the ditch", which is where I just sew along the already existing seams (ditches).  I'm not ready to try any fancy stitching since I'm still fairly new at it. 

    I'll post a photo when I'm done with it. 

     

  • Sitting here at work, not doing much.  The phones are quiet.  Radio's on, so I can't do much reading---I'm one of those that needs it quiet.  Usually. 
    What I'm *kinda* in the middle of doing is writing up my midterm for my Legal Aspects class, putting it in my notes that I can use for my final.  Then I'll actually need to read the rest of the chapters tonight and tomorrow.  One of my class friends is coming over so that we can do a bit of studying for our final on Wednesday night.  Should be interesting.  She'll be bringing her daughter, who happens to be deaf.  She's around the same age as my oldest, who doesn't know ANY sign language. 

    Lucky for us, the Wii will be the language for all. 

    Yesterday was my oldest son's birthday, I can't believe that he's 8!  Where has the time gone?  We started the day out with a treasure hunt for him.  At the end, he got a new game for the Wii--New Super Mario Brothers.  He's been pretty much playing it non-stop.  We had a kids, 'boys' party for him around 11---"Playing, Pizza, Pinata, & Prizes".  The boys had fun--pizza, pinata, make-your-own-sundae.  5 boys from school, his brother, and the next door neighbor boy.  8 boys. 
    In the afternoon, we had family come over--pretty low key, though.  We had the cake (really, it was brownies), then gifts.  Birthday Boy hasn't been feeling all that great (along with his Mommy)--tired, mostly.  It started the night before, and I was pretty nervous that we could be getting what his little brother had the week before.  His thing was being really tired, and then throwing up, three days in a row.  After the first episode, we had him carry a bucket with him.  Good thing since all three throw up episodes happened around the same time each day. 

    Ok, off I go.  Time to finish typing up this midterm test.  I've got a long way to go since I'm only on number 6.

     

  • God's Provision

    Why is worrying so easy?  Why is that the first thing that I start to do, rather than trusting that God's going to take care of things?  Why can't TRUST GOD be the first thought that crosses my mind? 

    We've had some car problems lately. In January, we had to pay a bunch to get my van fixed--the passenger window wouldn't roll up.  Thankfully, we just needed a switch for that, but there were other issues in the engine.  AND we needed a new battery.  BOOOO! 
    Now our truck is out of commission due to needing a new transmission.  We're planning on selling it for parts, and hope to make a little bit of money to put toward our other broken car--our Toyota.  It's a 1993, got lots of miles on it, but still running fairly well.  Jim noticed a leak, so when I took it in, they said that the water pump needed to be replaced.  Didn't cost a ton for the part, but the labor was extensive.  Not to mention a bunch of other hoses and belts that needed to be replaced. 
    The car shop called me and gave me the total and even though I was prepared for it, I still went into panic mode.  I *thought* that we had more money in our savings, but I'd forgotten that I'd put some towards our last bill.  Everyone seems to want what little money we have.  (and no, nothing back from taxes...) 
    Juggled a bit from accounts (transferred), and then realized that not only does Jim get paid tomorrow, but once we put our truck on Craigslist, I'm sure we'll sell it. 

    I still really got to get a few houses sold.  It's been a tough market.  I registered my youngest for Kindergarten at the same school where his older brother is--private school.  I have to sell a few homes to get that paid!~  We don't really like going month to month, so we prefer to pay for it all at once.  Or twice a year.  It's an awesome school and we know that going here will give them a big boost when it comes to college.  However, it's a struggle to pay for it. 
    Our goal is for them to get scholarships for college, so then we wouldn't be paying for it!  (which is inevitable even if we say we won't) 
    We know that this school is the best place for them, and God brought it to us before we even needed it.  Now, we're waiting to see how He's going to provide the money for it. 

     

     

  • Themes, Paper, & Quilt

    It still amazes me that people are still using my themes!  I made them several years ago when Xanga allowed us to make our own themes. 
    I almost wish that Facebook would do the same---at least to let us move modules around and personalize it a bit more.  I love how clean FB is, but I don't like all their changes that they keep doing.  But then, it's free, so what can I say other than THANK YOU for allowing me to catch up with people from youth groups, high school, jr. high, etc.  It's been awesome for that.  (now, if they would only respond to my many many e-mails asking why they shut down one of my pages)

    Yesterday, I almost finished my paper for my Legal Aspects class.  (Legal Aspects in the Medical Office)  I have one more point to make, and then I can get back to working on my quilt:
      DSC05573 DSC05572

    This was my practice quilt for learning how to do the kaleidascopes/pinwheels/etc type of blocks.  Right now, I'm trying to get them squared up so that I'll be able to sew them together to actually look like *something*! 
    I decided to make it for our school's auction, but the deadline is NEXT FRIDAY!  I haven't finished the blocks, much less sewn them together and assembled the 'quilt sandwich'.  I may turn it in late, but I need to see if it will still be accepted. 

    Ok, enough procrastinating.  Off to work on my paper!

  • Luke's hitting his third bout of Leukemia..Please be praying for them! 
    I think you can click on the picture and be taking to his parents' blog. 

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Correction:  The blog hasn't been updated in about a year, so here's the link to the Caring Bridge page where you can read more. 
    Praying for Luke